Invalid Frob means I cannot get Auth Token

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Apr 19, 2008 at 12:05 PM
I am new to FlickrNet and cannot get the sample programs working at all. I have a valid API key and Secret and have used these with the Java API without a problem.
To save me pulling out what is left of my hair, Can someone help me please.

I originally was trying the sample code as is but the UploadPicture method just returned a null. So I have changed the code to get an Auth token but this code now throws "Invalid Frob". I am using VS2005, Vista Business

Here's the code I am trying to get working:

Flickr flickr = new Flickr(FlickrKeys.ApiKey, FlickrKeys.Secret);

string Frob = flickr.AuthGetFrob();
string url = flickr.AuthCalcUrl(Frob, AuthLevel.Write);

Auth auth = flickr.AuthGetToken(Frob); // Throws Invalid Frob Exception HERE. A Frob is returned.

flickr.ApiToken = auth.Token;

string title = "Test Upload";
string description = "Test Description";

string photoId = flickr.UploadPicture(Filename.Text, title); // This was returning null and not uploading so I added the Auth code above to try and fix it.

Coordinator
Apr 19, 2008 at 3:16 PM

Auth auth = flickr.AuthGetToken(Frob); // Throws Invalid Frob Exception HERE. A Frob is returned.

The above lines need to be split up. You MUST use the URL you have calculated to send the user to the Flickr web site. Only once they have physically approved your frob can you then use it to get the token.

System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(url);

Console.WriteLine("Press Enter once authenticated");
Consoel.ReadLine();

Apr 19, 2008 at 3:27 PM
Thanks for the quick response.

What I am actually trying to do here is create a utility to display and upload photos from my own account. I am not writing an app for others to use.

I feel that I'm using the wrong style of authentication as why would I want to authenticate myself!