get photo set by id and then bind

Topics: Developer Forum
Jul 26, 2011 at 1:58 PM

I am new to this api but have a simple request that I cannot seem to work out.

I want to retrieve a photoset by id and display it on a page by binding it to a datalist and eventually enable paging.

The below page _load code will not work for me and I was hoping someone could lead me in the right direction.

string flickrKey = "keyhere";
        string sharedSecret = "secretehere";
        string setid = "setidhere";

Flickr flickr = new Flickr(flickrKey, sharedSecret);

Photoset set = new Photoset();
        set.PhotosetId = setid;

ThumbnailsList.DataSource = set;
        ThumbnailsList.DataBind();

Coordinator
Jul 26, 2011 at 2:01 PM

You actually need to call Flickr to get the photoset details:

Photoset set = flickr.PhotosetGetInfo(setid);

or something similar.

Sam

Jul 26, 2011 at 2:17 PM

Thank you, small issues like this are the biggest problems for me.

I changed the code as you specified  and I am getting an error: An invalid data source is being used for ThumbnailsList. A valid data source must implement either IListSource or IEnumerable.

Do I need to specify additional settings than maybe I am unaware of being this is new for me?

Photoset set = flickr.PhotosetsGetInfo(setid);

Coordinator
Jul 26, 2011 at 2:29 PM

Well if you are (I'm only guessing here) actually wanting to show the photos in the photoset, then perhaps you should be calling PhotosetsGetPhotos(setid) instead.

Sam

Jul 26, 2011 at 3:28 PM

Thank you - I got it to work with the following code but need to know how to increase the image size from SquareThumbnailUrl to something larger.Is there a doc on what sizes that flickr returns?

PhotosetPhotoCollection set = flickr.PhotosetsGetPhotos(setid);

Coordinator
Jul 26, 2011 at 3:40 PM

The following link lists the different sizes, or you can just look at a photo on Flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/services/api/misc.urls.html